STA recognizes UIC Design faculty, alumni, and students


The UIC School of Design was once again well-represented at the STA 100 Awards Ceremony held on Saturday, September 15, 2018.

Winners of the 2018 STA 100 typography competition include UIC Design faculty Pegah Ahmadi, Pouya Ahmadi, Amir Berbić, Marcia Lausen, Sharon Oiga, Cheryl Towler Weese as well as alumni Michaile Brooks, Katie Edwards, Tara Kennedy, Alice J. Lee, Latrina Lee, Daniel McManus, Meeyoung Melamed, Lauren Meranda, and Guy Villa.

Additionally, students from the entire Typography III class were recognized for their work in the realm of three-dimensional typography, done in Fall 2017.

Each year, the Society of Typographic Arts awards the best 100 examples of communication design from around the world that utilize innovative typography. The STA has existed to encourage excellence and professionalism in all aspects of design, printing and typography. Originally a chapter of the New York-based American Institute of Graphic Arts, STA created its own identity in 1927 as an organization of Chicago’s leading professional designers, typographers, and printers.